Red Hawk Golf & Resort to Host 2023 Junior America’s Cup

The Northern Nevada Junior Golf Association (NNJGA) and the Junior America’s Cup Executive committee have announced that Red Hawk Golf & Resort (Lakes Course) in Sparks, Nevada, will be the host venue for the 2023 Junior America’s Cup.

The 2023 competition will mark the 51st competition of the Junior America’s Cup championship and the 3rd time it will be held in Nevada. The event will take place from July 30 – August 3. The previous time the event was hosted in Nevada was 2003 which was at Rio Secca Golf Club in Henderson, Nevada. The team from Oregon captured the team title that year. PGA Tour players that participated include Kyle Stanley, Joel Dahmen and Kevin Chappell.

Red Hawk Golf & Resort has two championship golf courses that provide more than just another round of golf. The Junior America’s Cup will be contested on the Robert Trent Jones II designed Lakes Course, which is set amid natural lakes, murmuring springs and mature cottonwood trees. The 7,140 yard layout offers a multitude of dramatic scenes as the natural desert landscape flows in and around the green expanse of the course. The Northern Nevada Golf Course puts the perfect amount of water, sand and grass together to give everyone a memorable golf experience.

For more info on Red Hawk Golf & Resort:

In 1972, the Junior Golf Association of Northern California hosted the inaugural event, in the Pebble Beach area, at Monterey Peninsula Country Club, Spyglass Hill and Pebble Beach . The event included 11 teams at the time, British Columbia, Idaho, Mexico (with two teams), Nevada, Northern California, Oregon, San Diego, Southern California, Washington and Utah, with each team bringing 5 players.

In 1974, a change was made to the team size, with four team members instead of five. The format has remained the same since. That year, Arizona and Hawaii were invited to participate. British Columbia withdrew from the Matches for a few years.

In 1975, Colorado became a part of the America’s Cup Matches with Montana joining in 1976 and Alberta in 1977. British Columbia also rejoined. The field remained the same until 1989 when Sun Country (New Mexico and part of western Texas) were asked to join. In 1995, Mexico asked to bring one team instead of two. Wyoming was admitted to the group in 2001 which brought the team total to 17 with each golf association rotating hosting this prestigious event.

Andrew Columbro
Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial